MS Dhoni highest-paid player in IPL history: Rohit passed Virat

Former Indian captain MS Dhoni is the highest-paid player in IPL history.

From the first season of IPL, then the current Indian captain, MS Dhoni was the most expensive player of that season. In the first season, CSK had bought MS Dhoni for $1.5 million. Though, in today’s terms, it is not that huge amount of money. However, in 2008 MS Dhoni had become the most expensive cricketer of that time. Post taking CSK to a final in 2008, and lifting the trophy in 2010, Dhoni was the marquee captain for the first three seasons of the league.

Top 3 highest-paid player in IPL history

Top 3 highest-paid player in IPL history

#1 MS Dhoni (137 crores.)

MS Dhoni is the highest-paid player in IPL history.

As per Inside Sports Money Ball, the internationally-retired cricketer, and former Indian captain has earned over Rs 137 crore by participating in the IPL. This huge amount though is excluding other rewards like those of the Player of the Match, Most Sixes, etc.

For the first three seasons of IPL till 2010 MS Dhoni was paid $1.5 million for every season. After that MS Dhoni was paid about Rs 8.2 crore every year from 2011 to 2013 by the Chennai Super Kings. In 2014, the BCCI had raised the first-choice retention fees for a player to Rs 12.5 crore. So, as the CSK management retained MSD, he earned Rs 12.5 crore for each IPL season in 2014 and 2015.

Free website traffic generator

Read more: 14 motivational MS Dhoni quotes

However post 2015 since CSK was banned from participating in the IPL due to betting charges against key officials, he had to move to Rising Pune Supergiant for the 2016 and 2017 seasons of IPL. Dhoni earned Rs 12.5 crore for each IPL season in 2016 and 2017 as well.

Before 2018 BCCI had implemented another hike in the first-choice retention price. The first-choice retention price was made Rs. 15 crores from the 2018 season of IPL. That meant, MSD earned a total of Rs.45 crore in the last three seasons of IPL. So, from 2008 till 2020, MSD has managed to earn Rs.137 crore from IPL contracts only, which made him the highest-paid player in IPL history.

Read more: 5 most successful captains in IPL

#2 Rohit Sharma (131 crores)

Rohit Sharma: Top 3 highest-paid player in IPL history

One of the most successful captains in IPL history, Rohit Sharma is the second highest-paid player in IPL history. The Mumbai Indians captain has been in the IPL since the beginning. Rohit’s stellar performances and leading skill has made him one of the best players of IPL. Rohit earned Rs 3 crores every year from 2008 to 2010 for his three-year stint with his first team, Deccan Chargers.

In the year 2009, Rohit was bought by the Mumbai Indians franchise. For the next three years at Mumbai Indians, he received Rs 9.2 crore per year.

Read more: National Sports Awards 2020: Full list of awardees

In 2014 Rohit was made the captain of Mumbai Indians by the team management. Hence he had become the first-choice retention player of Mumbai Indians. Rohit earned Rs 12.5 every year from 2014 to 2017. Also, just like MSD, he earned Rs. 15 crores per year from 2018. So, in total till now Rohit has managed to earn a humungous Rs. 131 crores from IPL contracts.

Read more: Top 5 active improved cricketers.

#3 Virat Kohli (126 crores)

Virat Kohli: Top 3 highest-paid player in IPL history

Though Virat Kohli is currently the highest-paid player in the IPL season and has been since 2018, he is at number three in the list of highest-paid player in IPL history. Virat has a cumulative income of over Rs 126 crore from IPL contracts.

Kohli was the only uncapped player when IPL had commenced from this list. He earned only Rs 12 lakh every year from 2008 to 2010.

Read more: 5 worst captains in IPL history

However, Virat was the only retained player by the RCB in the season 2011. He earned Rs 8.2 crore for the next three years. In 2014 Virat was RCB’s first-choice retention player. Hence for the next 4 seasons, he earned Rs 12.5 crore per year till 2018.

Read more: 10 forgotten talented Indian cricketers

 Starting IPL 2018 however, the current skipper of the Indian cricket team shattered all records and was signed for Rs 17 crore, Rs 2 crore more than any first-choice retention player. That made him also the current highest-paid player in the IPL.

However, Virat Kohli is the only player on this list not to win the IPL till now.

Also read: Every Virat Kohli records from the records book

To get all the latest from us Sign Up for our newsletter and also follow us on our Facebook page

This Post Has 3 Comments

Leave a Reply